Prominent Local Leaders Elected to the Board of Directors

Prominent Local Leaders Elected to the Board of Directors
Thursday, January 28, 2016


Nearly 100 attended our Annual Meeting at the Hanover Insurance Group on January 26, 2016. 

Big Brothers Big Sisters of Central Mass/Metrowest held its Annual Meeting this week at The Hanover Insurance Group. The Annual Meeting was attended by nearly 100 supporters, alumni, staff, board members, corporators and guests. The meeting was hosted and sponsored by the Hanover Insurance Group who recently announced a $30,000 gift to BBBSCM over three years in honor of National Mentoring Month. 

The event featured two award presentations to members of the organization for outstanding achievements and contributions to the agency. The Colleen O'Brien Memorial Award is given annually to a Board Member who exceeded expectations in their contributions to the agency. It is named in honor of Colleen O'Brien, who passed away seven years ago after serving on the Big Brothers Big Sisters of Central Mass/Metrowest Board of Directors. This year's recipient is Margaret Sullivan of Hudson. Sullivan exemplified the giving spirit and determined passion exhibited by Colleen O'Brien by serving as a Big Sister, volunteering on various Board sub-committees, and securing a multi-year gift for the agency from Avidia Bank.

The Dr. H. Martin Deranian Fellowship Award is given annually to a Big Brother or Big Sister who exceeds expectations in their contributions to their mentee and to the agency. It is named in honor of Dr. H. Martin Deranian, the agency's (and nation's) longest serving Big Brother (50 years+). Dr. Deranian, a Shrewsbury resident, has been involved with the agency for over fifty years. This year's Deranian Award recipient is Rich Schwarz, of Canton. Schwarz has been involved with BBBSCM for over 10 years as a Big Brother, he has been with his current Little for over a year. Schwarz is a Big Brother, former Board member, current Corporator, and active participant in the agency's annual Rodman Ride for Kids fundraiser. Dr. Deranian was present to award this honor to Schwarz personally.

Karyn Polito, Lieutenant Governor of Massachusetts, spoke about the value of mentoring and its impact on at-risk youth in the Commonwealth in her keynote address.

Dan Mastrototaro of Marlborough, presided over the meeting. Mastrototaro is currently serving his second term as chair of the agency's board of directors.

The agency elected six new members to its Board of Directors: Derek Grillo, Barbara Heisler, Jack Hoehlein, Ryan Kittredge,  Mike Powers and Paul Villena. A short biography of each new member is included below.
Derek Grillo is a resident of Shrewsbury, MA and is co-owner of Struck Catering, one of the premier catering services in the area. Grillo previously served on the BBBSCM Board of Corporators. He has served the community in a variety of roles, most notably as Treasurer and Officer of the Shrewsbury Rotary Club for over 10 years.

Barbara Heisler is a resident of Shewsbury, MA and is the owner and principal broker at Heisler & Mattson Properties, based in Westborough. Heisler is a member and former Board member for the Corridor Nine Chamber of Commerce. Heisler has also served the community in multiple ways, including leadership roles in Shrewsbury Rotary Club, Spirit of Shrewsbury Fall Festival, and President of the American Cancer Society chapter in Marlborough, Mass.


Jack Hoehlein is a resident of Dover, MA and is a financial adviser at Morgan Stanley in Wellesley, Mass. Hoehlein brings years of corporate experience, including stints at ACNielsen, serving as a Founding member of Non Stop Logistics and Viewlocity, and providing independent corporate consulting to multi-million dollar companies. Hoehlein has previously served on the BBBSCM Board of Corporators. 

Ryan Kittredge is a resident of Sterling, MA and is a Partner at Carr Financial Group, based in Worcester. Kittredge is a current Big Brother and member of the BBBSCM Board of Corporators. Kittredge served as co-chair of the BBBSCM Young Professionals group, the Alumni & Friends Association, which has raised thousands of dollars and a wide range of supplies for our mentoring programs


Mike Powers is a resident of Shrewsbury, MA and is Title Counsel for CATIC (Connecticut Attorney's Title Insurance Company) in their Westborough office. Powers was in private law practice for 28 years before joining CATIC in 2014. Powers has previously volunteered in a variety of roles in youth sports, most notably as President of the Shrewsbury Youth Hockey Association.


Paul Villena is a resident of Westborough and is a Division Director at firstPRO Inc., a full service, independent staffing and recruitment firm. Villena has over 15 years' experience in the staffing industry. His specialty resides with the Information Technology field and his clients have included many non-profit organizations as well as Fortune 500 companies serving many types of industries.


The Annual Meeting also presented attendees with the agency's  Annual Report for 2015, which is now available here.